AccountKiller
Want to delete your AdWords account? AccountKiller provides easy instructions to delete your account on most websites. Or do you want to create an account on AdWords? Better first read if you can get rid of it, if you would ever want to!

How to delete your AdWords account

Follow the instructions on the provided link to deactive your account (you can later reactivate it if you like); but first read the next sentences.

It is unfortunately impossible to delete (erase, destruct, kill, etc.) your AdWords account. This is even more unfortunate because for the rest of your life, you will be responsible for any content on the web pages associated with your AdWords account (i.e. the ones for which you once advertised). This means, even if you sell your domain and someone else puts completely different content on it, YOU will remain responsible for that content complying with Google's AdWords terms of service.

Does this sound faulty, mistaken, ridiculous, despotic, illogical, etc.? You tell Google! But this is how the company works. So think twice before you use AdWords.

The best ('least worst') thing you should do is keep your AdWords-associated domains and not sell them. Any competitor or ill-minded person could put 'illegal' content on it, for which you will be held responsible. Probably you can't do much about it and your AdWords account may become locked, until you resolve the problem.

Direct removal link

TIP anonymize your account

Because an account at AdWords cannot be deleted, we suggest to make your data useless.

Be logged in on the site, then go to Profile Settings (Or Options, etc.). In all fields with personal data (such as name, address, city), fill in AccountKiller, if possible. If you can only choose from several options, change the value. If possible, use a homepage/URL field or long text field (such as Description) and put this line in it: https://www.accountkiller.com/removal-requested. This may incite webmasters to add an account deletion option.

TIP good to know

Publicly visible text/images often aren't properly deleted even when you succeed in deleting an account. Try editing or deleting them manually before deleting the account itself. If you're unsure what happens to your tracks: this can be found mostly in the Terms of Service/Privacy Policy; otherwise you can always contact AdWords and ask personally. By the way, deletion requests don't necessarily mean your data will actually be deleted (e.g. due to legal obligations).

If you can't find any contact info and still wish to ask something, for example a question about what exactly is deleted, about data retention, etc., you may contact the domain owners using this info.

TIP Remove third-party logins

If you signed up for AdWords using a third-party login such as Facebook or Twitter, you probably want to revoke all access from AdWords. Click the icon below to find out how.

comments powered by Disqus
Suggest a better translation

We're constantly trying to improve upon the English translation of our site. Some parts, however, still need to be translated, or could be improved. If you have a (better) translation for this part of the site, please let us know!



Whois information