AccountKiller
Want to delete your Gaia Online account? AccountKiller provides easy instructions to delete your account on most websites. Or do you want to create an account on Gaia Online? Better first read if you can get rid of it, if you would ever want to!

How to delete your Gaia Online account

You still cannot delete your Gaia account. From their FAQ:

"We do not completely delete accounts on Gaia, as we need to keep a minimum of information on file for record-keeping and dispute-resolution purposes. If you would like to remove information from the account, you can log in and do so at any point by going to My Gaia, then to Account Settings. There you can change the email address on the account and update the password. You can even change the username on the account, if you want."

You can, however, use this form to partially delete your account:

First, log in to your account.

Now visit https://www.gaiaonlinehelp.com - you need to do this first because Gaia online sets some weird cookie that possibly blocks access to the link below.

Go to https://www.gaiaonlinehelp.com/ics/support/ticketnewwizard.asp?style=classic

Choose "General Account Inquiry" from the first select box.

Then "Account Status" from the second.

And then "Delete My Account" from the third.

Politely tell them to remove your account. And mention they are blacklisted on AccountKiller.com; this might speed up the process.

Finally, click "Finish" to submit your ticket.

TIP anonymize your account

Because an account at Gaia Online cannot be deleted, we suggest to make your data useless.

Be logged in on the site, then go to Profile Settings (Or Options, etc.). In all fields with personal data (such as name, address, city), fill in AccountKiller, if possible. If you can only choose from several options, change the value. If possible, use a homepage/URL field or long text field (such as Description) and put this line in it: https://www.accountkiller.com/removal-requested. This may incite webmasters to add an account deletion option.

TIP good to know

Publicly visible text/images often aren't properly deleted even when you succeed in deleting an account. Try editing or deleting them manually before deleting the account itself. If you're unsure what happens to your tracks: this can be found mostly in the Terms of Service/Privacy Policy; otherwise you can always contact Gaia Online and ask personally. By the way, deletion requests don't necessarily mean your data will actually be deleted (e.g. due to legal obligations).

If you can't find any contact info and still wish to ask something, for example a question about what exactly is deleted, about data retention, etc., you may contact the domain owners using this info.

TIP Remove third-party logins

If you signed up for Gaia Online using a third-party login such as Facebook or Twitter, you probably want to revoke all access from Gaia Online. Click the icon below to find out how.

comments powered by Disqus
Suggest a better translation

We're constantly trying to improve upon the English translation of our site. Some parts, however, still need to be translated, or could be improved. If you have a (better) translation for this part of the site, please let us know!



Whois information